Book Media · book review · Bookish Post

Book Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Title: Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles, #3.5) by Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Publication Date: January 27, 2015

Format: Audiobook & Hardcover, 222 pages

Genre:  Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Retelling

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?


Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

Review:

I was originally going to rate this a three stars but then after I got to thinking, I realized that I hated Levana (not that I didn’t before) but that the writing in this book was so powerful that it just reinforced it, hence the four stars. I definitely see a major improvement in writing that wasn’t present in other books. I loved how Marissa Meyer made you hate Levana, but at the same time your starting to understand her more (why she ended up the may she is, how it wasn’t all her fault), I do have a strong dislike for Channary because she had a big hand in making Levana this way.

Though I do sympathize with Levana more than I previously did, I also do believe that she is absolutely delusional, with her thinking that Winter’s father Hayle loved her on his own free will when he didn’t really have any. Even from reading from her POV I can’t fathom at all how her mind works. I do think that she does care about Lunar, but in her messed up head, everything she does she thinks is for the good of Lunar, even killing Princess Selena (Levana kept getting on my nerves).

Regardless of all of that I did think it was cool to see the Lunar Chronicles series being set up, with the wolf soldiers, and the letumosis progress, and also the TLC characters in their early year.

In the end this was really a great read, not a very happy read (not in the least) but still enjoyable. For this is did switch from the audiobook and they physical book, I do recommend the audiobook, it was very well done. Now after reading this I can’t wait to start Winter and see how all of this comes to an end.

 

