Uncategorized

Book Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

WINTERTitle: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4) by Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Publication Date: November 10, 2015

Format: Hardcover & Audiobook, 827 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Romance

Rating:

Synopsis: Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mark her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

Review:

 

I can defiantly see an improvement in Marissa Meyer’s writing throughout this series, it gets better with each book. That being said, this is my favorite book in the series, I loved every part of it, it’s amazing that we got to explore Lunar for the first time. I thought it was great seeing the outer sectors of Lunar compared to the aristocrats lifestyle. It really makes you realize how Levana is completely delusional, she thinks that all of her people love her, but look at how she treats them.

I really enjoyed the introduction to Winter in this book, I loved her POV and her character because she was highly unreliable. I just thought that she was such a sweet character who generally cares about the people of Luna and those who are around her, and she can also sometime be so funny. I think that I have forgiven Jacien for betraying them in the previous book but he’s not my favorite character in the series, sometimes he would get on my nerves with some of the things he did, however, he did redeem himself and I love how much he cares for Winter. I really loved how the Snow White retelling was woven into the story, I thought it was both flawless and creative, the details were marvolous.

The POV’s in this book were fantastic, it was great hearing about all of the characters in this book, but I do wish we had more POV’s from Kai and Thorne, I feel like there were some key moment that I would have liked to experience though them, and now I feel like those times were missed opportunities to make this book that much better. I liked that Kai does take on a more active role in this book, in the others I feel a little like he was on his own but now he was apart of the main objective. Also Iko was great in this book, she played a bigger part in the story than I though she would, she’s just one of my favorite characters with her humor and her unique personality. I think this series has such relatable characters, I think that most people could find at least one character that you can relate with.

The ending to this book was more than I expected, I know some people were overwhelmed by the ending, and this did leave me a little worried but it was all for nothing because I loved it. This is my favorite in the series, where the other books were all four stars, this one is five stars and also five stars for the series overall. How everything ended with the characters was wonderful, and in the end I think that everyone is in a better place than when they started.

