Book Media · book review · Bookish Post

Book Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Title: The Raven KingThe Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Publication Date: April 26th, 2016

Format: Hardcover & Audiobook, 436 pages

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from the irrepressible, #1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater.

All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Review:

I was initially hesitant to read this book series because of Maggie Stiefvaters other series The Wolves of Mercy Falls is said to have a bittersweet ending (those are not my thing) and I was worried this didn’t especially because you can see it could have easily had one, it passed all of my expectations.

However in the end I was left with some mixed feelings about things that happened with this book, some I feel were questions that were left unanswered. Some things like what happens with the Grey Man, what exactly happened with Noah, and what was the point in the search for Glendower. The search for Glendower I feel is what I have the most trouble with, in the others book this was a main part of the story but here it seemed more like an after thought. It didn’t even really become a part of the story until the second half of the book, and then at the end of the search that was all that happened. Now the search that happened all through out the book seems a little pointes, this all left me very unsatisfied with the end of the story, I wish there was more. I wanted to give this book five out of five stars but these issues were to much for me to ignore.

Regardless of my problems with the ending of the book (namely the search for Glendower) I did enjoy the book. I thought there was a lot of character development throughout the story that was present in all of the characters in very different ways. I also enjoyed the introduction of Henry who I found a very humorous character and I think that he fits in very well everyone, but also in a way I feel like in someway he was replacing Noah who seemed to be sidelined in this book and then just disappeared into nothing.

In this series I really enjoyed the magic system, it didn’t seem overdone and it seemed realistic, like it could exist in everyday lives without anyone being aware of it’s existence. Places like Cabeswater seeming to have a calming effect, this is through the writing, the writing was amazingly done, it could easily transport you to wherever and make you feel the same way as the character in that moment. I look forward to reading more of Maggie Stiefvaters writing in the future.

Out of all of this I’m glade that I read this series, and I hear that Maggie Stiefvater is writing another series in this world that will focus on Ronan (I believe this my be hinted at the end of the book), I hope that this will allow the chance for some of these issues to be rectified. There is also talk of a TV Series in the future, I know the rights have been optioned, but we can only wait and see.

Other Books:

